1328 Main Street
The St. Helena Star was founded in 1874. In 1900, ground was broken for this new building. Scottish stonemason, R.H. Pithie, built the walls. When the cornerstone was laid, a box was laid into the cornerstone and MCM (1900) chiseled onto it. The owner’s wife struck the stone with a mallet, declaring that it was well and truly laid.
The two large arched windows were of French plate glass with an open arched entrance between them. Inside to the left was the Star office of W.A. Mackinder. The post office, with F.B. Mackinder as postmaster, was centrally located in the interior of the vestibule. Back in the early days, herds of animals were driven through the streets. One day a steer bounded into the newspaper office through an open door. With great care, the staff managed to herd him back into the street. In 2006-2007, the building was renovated and became the Caldwell Snyder Art Gallery.