1320 Main Street
The Traub/Keller building was built in 1915. The first building on this site was a small frame building, dating from the late 1850’s to the early 1860’s, and was used as a blacksmith shop. It was later converted to a bakery and then H. Traub expanded it into a grocery.
In 1924, new owners negotiated with Traub to erect a new building that would also house the Knox Meat Market (then in another building on Main Street). The new reinforced concrete building was divided into two parts: a grocery and a meat market. In the back, there were workrooms with a large refrigerator, vats for lard production, a smokehouse for curing hams and bacon, and a sausage maker. Later the business was sold to the Kellers and in 1965, Ernie Navone, an employee since 1949, bought Keller’s Meat Market. He charmed many youngsters with a hot dog or a piece of salami while their mothers shopped. It has been a restaurant but is now unoccupied.