1401 Grayson Avenue
St. Helena’s first high school held classes at the local Presbyterian Church for one year in 1895. In 1896, the high school moved into Turner Hall that used to be at Lyman Park in the center of town. Classes were held there until 1912. Work began on a new high school in 1912 with money from the 1911 school bonds and on land donated by Frances Grayson Crane. The school was built of reinforced concrete, faced with stone and roofed with slate. Students attended classes there until 1967. More modern structures on the same property now house the student body. The old school building, on the corner of Highway 29 and Grayson Avenue, underwent a major earthquake retrofit in 2003. t is now used for administration and city government meetings. The school was placed on the National Register of Historic Places on May 22, 1978.