The Daniel Otis Hunt Building was completed in March of 1892. The Wonderful Drug Store was the first lessee and the most colorful occupant. It remained on this corner for over 50 years. Owner George A. Riggins’ initials (GAR) and the name of his store are embedded into the sidewalk in brass letters. Some thought GAR stood for Grand Army of the Republic, a fraternal organization composed of veterans of the Union Army of the Civil War. This would not have been popular with the Southern sympathizers in St Helena.
Later the Arighi Drug Co., the Vasconi Pharmacy, and several clothing stores occupied the space. The tavern space was at different times a donut shop, a deli, a shoe store and a Mexican restaurant. Upstairs was the Valley Hotel in the 1950’s and the Cornerstone Hotel in the 1980’s. It is now offices.
This Italianate building is constructed of native pitch-face stone mostly laid in irregular rows. The storefront has been virtually unaltered since 1947. Now Reeds Women’s Clothing and Cook Tavern occupy the building.