Then

Then: Feed mill and warehouse

Now

Now

Now

Now

The Pritchard Building, built in 1906, was constructed, as were most of the stone buildings along Railroad Avenue, as a utilitarian warehouse convenient to the Railroad Depot. It stored coal for the railroad and also served as a feed mill. It is constructed of native cut stone and fieldstone.

The building is rectangular in shape without ornamentation. The original window and door openings are rectangular, have plain lugsills, and flat lintels with radiating stones. The ease of building with stone in Napa County made it economically feasible to build even simple warehouse of stone. At one time the upper level of the feed mill/warehouse was a roller skating rink. The building received an award of merit for its renovation done in 1971.

During the renovation, a water tank was discovered in the northeast corner of the building and three water cisterns were also uncovered inside the building. The building is now divided into smaller offices and businesses including St. Helena Optometry

1104 Adams Street St Helena CA