1371-1375 Main Street
The owner, Caroline Adsit, built this single-story building of native stone in 1884. When the building was finished, but empty, an “Old Clothes Ball” was held with a live band. The proceeds went to the local chapter of the Native Daughters of the Golden West. This building is unusual because the stone has been dressed rather than pitch-faced and is placed in broken rows on the façade. The building’s two storefronts are similar and appear to date from about 1980. The elaborate parapet has a banded ornamental molding (cornice) and a band of small, square, tooth-THEN: The original storefront facade like blocks called a dentil course. At one time a plumbing business and a frame shop occupied the storefronts. Now Findings, a retail shop, and Olivier Napa Valley occupy the building.