1327-1337 Main Street
This two-story building was completed in 1892. It is called the Richie Block because M. G. Richie paid for the building and owned it. This building dominates the skyline of St. Helena’s Main Street Commercial District. It was the dream of Captain Richie’s stepson, John C. Money, a self-taught woodworker, and craftsman. He owned a sawmill on Main Street and it was there that he produced all of the intricate woodwork visible on the front façade of this Queen Anne building. The building cost $14,000 to build and the lot cost $8,000.
The downstairs has always been used for commercial purposes, but the upstairs is a Masonic temple for the St. Helena Free and Accepted Masons Lodge No.93. Captain Richie, a Mason himself, had the structure built for the Masons, who still hold their monthly meetings here.
Over the years, various stores such as Bell Brothers General Store, A. N. Bell Co., Kirkpatrick’s, and Goodman’s have occupied the space. In 1992, for the building’s 100th birthday, the cornerstone was removed and a time capsule with letters, photographs, an 1892 issue of the St. Helena Star, and other memorabilia was discovered, inspected and returned to its place under the cornerstone.
Several other businesses, including a bank, have also occupied space in the building. Pennyweight and Gathered St. Helena each occupy one of the street level spaces while the Masonic Lodge continues to meet upstairs. The other street-level storefront is available for lease.