1310 Adams Street
The Methodist Church is the oldest of the several 19th-century churches in St. Helena. Its simple lines exemplify the early Methodism brought to the Upper Napa Valley by the circuit Methodist minister, Rev. Asa White, in the 1850’s. As the Rev. White covered a wide circuit on the North California coast, it fell to the Rev. Bryant and his trustees to build the church in 1867. F.E. Kellogg, the builder of the Bale mill, supplied the lumber.
Several early pioneer names are associated with the building of the church: William McDonnell, Peter Teale, J.B. Risley, John Howell, the Rev. Bryant and others. In the functional style of early churches, it is a rectangular building with a gable roof. Siding is of shiplap. In 1873, the two-story bell tower with a steeple was added to the gable end and William Angwin was appointed the minister.
By 1881, the construction debt was paid off. The steel ceiling and Gothic windows were installed in 1897. Charlotte Jones, one of the first female preachers in California, served from 1930 to 1941. In 1976, the Methodist Parsonage, that had been built at the same time adjacent to the church, was moved to 1944 Spring Street. A Sunday School and Day Care center once took its place. Now a Montessori School is located there.