1201-1205 Main Street
Abraham Goodman was born in Hungary in 1851. In 1879, Abraham moved to St. Helena and, after his merchandise business, “The San Francisco Auction House” grew, he built these two matching brick buildings. The first was built in 1890, and the second in 1896 for his “San Francisco Dry Goods Store.” In 1891, Abraham moved back to San Francisco. His two sons, Jacob and Julius, continued to manage the dry goods store. In 1911, they moved the store to a new building at 1243 Main Street. The business eventually sold to the Rosenbergs in 1961, and then to Jack and Kathy Palus in 1981, who moved it to the Richie Block. Goodman’s has now relocated to Calistoga.
Around 1928, a restaurant occupied 1205 Main Street. In 1948, it became Ray’s Place, a “working man’s bar”, and in 1987, it became and remains Ana’s Cantina. In 1927, the 1201 Main Street store was a grocery business and in 1971, a new owner did an historic restoration. Now Napa Valley Vintage Home occupies the space.